MBC Volunteers

By participating in our public events, writing for our blog, contributing to social media and even making videos, these amazing people have helped educate the public about their conflict resolution options and imparted useful skills in all sorts of contexts.

It is National Volunteer Week (April 23-29, 2017) in Canada, so Mediate BC wanted to take a moment to publicly recognize and thank our volunteers for their contribution and commitment.


At Mediate BC we lead, promote and facilitate effective conflict resolution. Our volunteers help us live this mission by:

  • Engaging over 2,100 people at events across the province
  • Helping us make 400,000 social media impressions
  • Contributing to over 20 blog posts
  • Developing & contributing to 7 Mediate BC CPD events
  • Developing new Standards of Conduct for Med-Arb
  • Providing feedback on our Complaints Process
  • And so much more!

Our volunteers are truly making an impact and Mediate BC is a stronger organization thanks to our volunteers. We appreciate your generosity and support.

Mediate BC also recognizes the countless volunteer hours that go into some of the joint events we’ve had with the following organizations this year: BCAMI, Conciliation and Arbitration Board of Canada, Continuing Legal Education Society of British Columbia, CoRe Conflict Resolution Society, Justice Education Society, Justice Institute of British Columbia, People’s Law School, and the Virtual Mediation Lab.

Our Volunteers

Thank you to our 2015/2016 Roster Mediator volunteers!

Rebecca Alleyne Carrie Gallant Yuki Matsuno
Peter Altridge Leanne Harder Elaine McCormack
Lisa Arora Chris Harris Shelina Neallani
Nancy Baker Brandon Hastings Leslie Palleson
Grace Baker Arlene H. Henry, QC Wayne Plenert
Kat Bellamano Carol Hickman, QC Donna Rintoul
Linda Bonnell Brenda Hooper Amy Robertson
Joseph Boskovich Darrin Hotte Shelina Sayani
Kari Boyle Kyra Hudson Colleen Selby
Joan Braun Paul Jacks Amanda Semenoff
Colleen Cattell, QC Aurora Johannson Maria Silva
Maria Constantinescu Sharon Kelly Gordon Sloan
Nicholette D’Angelo Vivian Kerenyi Norm Smookler
Tara Day Edwin Knight Donna Soules
Jerome Dickey Tara Kowalski Sharon Sutherland
Jory Faibish Wendy Lakusta Paul Taberner
Katherine Fraser Michael Lomax Lori Williams
Kaitlin Fulton Gavin Mather  

Board of Directors

  • Brian Gibbard, Chair
  • Lori Charvat, Vice-Chair
  • Bill Keen, Treasurer
  • Richard Stewart, QC, Secretary
  • Judge Andrea Brownstone
  • Julie Daum
  • Gayle Bedard (former)
  • Jane Morley, QC (former)
  • Wayne Plenert (former)
  • Paul Taberner (former)

Roster Committee

  • Carol Hickman, QC, Chair
  • Richard Stewart, QC, Vice-Chair
  • Leanne Harder
  • Arlene H. Henry, QC
  • Angela Stadel
  • Jim Vilvang, QC
  • Dan Williams
  • Nick de Domenico (former)
  • Wayne Plenert (former)

We would also like to recognize our Board of Directors and members of our Roster Committee, all of whom serve on a volunteer basis. Their guidance and oversight is invaluable to Mediate BC. These are time-consuming and intense volunteer roles that provide an enormous benefit to all of us in the mediation community. Thank you to all the current and former Directors and Roster Committee members who served Mediate BC over the past year:

Thank you all!