Jane Morley Receives 2018 Susanna Jani Award for Excellence in Mediation

The award was given at the annual Mediate BC reception in Downtown Vancouver where, during her acceptance speech, Jane humbly described herself as having an “eclectic career.” But to those who know her, these words hardly capture the breadth of her accomplishments. Even her closest colleagues have trouble summarizing the impact of her work in the community. “She has so many significant contributions,” wrote the person who nominated her, “I’m embarrassed to say I don’t know all of them!” 


Vancouver Mediators at 2018 Reception

Mediators and stakeholders mingling at the annual Mediate BC reception. 


A quick glance at her Mediate BC roster profile or her Restorative Solutions bio would give a highly summarized snapshot. By profession, she is a lawyer in Victoria with decades of experience. In the 1990s, she shifted her law practice to mediation and arbitration, resolving countless civil and family disputes. This led her to long time involvement with the BC Mediator Roster Society, and later Mediate BC, where she was a major driving force. Aside from those roles, she describes her calling as “a leader of organizational and social change.” She was a Commissioner on Canada’s Truth and Reconciliation Commission (2008-2009) and is currently the Strategic Coordinator of Access to Justice BC; as well as one of the core team members of the BC Family Justice Innovation Lab



Mediators mingling at the Reception.

Much of Jane’s passion lies in ensuring resources are available for all citizens of British Columbia to resolve disputes and justice issues. “We, as mediators,” she said during her acceptance speech, “have a particular role to play in figuring out how we can make a difference in the area of access to justice.” This perspective, along with much of the other qualities that make her such an excellent mediator and public figure, are why Mediate BC is overjoyed to present her with the Susanna Jani Award.   


About the Award

 The Susanna Jani Award for Excellence in Mediation, established in 2009is an annual award acknowledging someone who has made a significant contribution to the field of mediation in BC. Previous recipients include Ron Tucker, Gordon SloanSharon Sutherland, Peggy English, Lee Turnbull, Carole McKnight, Sally Campbell, and M. Jerry McHale, Joyce W. Bradley, Kari D. Boyle, and Marje Burdine.    

Congratulations Ashley Syer!

Watch the presentation below (at the 22:45 mark):

In addition to her law practice, Ashley Syer completed Mediate BC’s Small Claims Mediation Practicum in 2015 and was soon after admitted to the Civil Mediator Roster.

It is then unsurprisingly that she has also volunteered her time with Mediate BC and CoRe leading talks, coaching conflict resolution skills, and training mediators. In addition to Ashley’s law and conflict resolution practice, she is an active performer in Vancouver’s theatre scene.

About the Allan Parker QC Award for Representation Services

This award was originally given annually by Pro Bono Law of BC to recognize the contribution of individual lawyers serving on the various representation rosters. Since the merger of Access Justice and Pro Bono Law of BC, one award has been given each year to recognize the exemplary representation services of an individual volunteer lawyer. In October 2011, the award was named in honour of the late Allan Parker QC who was an Executive Director of Access Justice and an Associate Executive Director of APB. (accessprobono.ca/awards)

Allan Parker, QC was also a Small Claims Mediator in Mediate BC’s Court Mediation Program from 2005 until 2012. Mediate BC CEO Monique Steensma recalls that “he recognized that the true value of mediation goes beyond the mediation room. He spoke of how these skills ripple out and have positive impacts on all those we are connected with.”

Mediate BC is truly thankful to Access Pro Bono for highlighting Ashley Syer’s many contributions.

On behalf of Mediate BC, congratulations Ashley! This award is well-deserved.

Photo: Sharon Sutherland

Video: Access Pro Bono



Many Hands Makes Joyful Work

Whether providing the public information about their options for conflict resolution at a table in the courthouse, a booth at a small business event, creating scavenger hunts, leading workshops,  or coaching conflict and communication skills – you make conflict resolution pop!

Volunteering is an enriching experience for everyone involved. Mediate BC benefits enormously as you help us provide a much broader public outreach than we could otherwise. Volunteering also helps promote your practices, connect with other mediators and provide a real value to the public.

We hope to provide even more opportunities in the coming year. Keep an eye out for calls for volunteers in our newsletters. If you would like to get involved, and if you have ideas for new avenues for Mediate BC and our Roster Mediators to support your organization or community through volunteering, please get in touch!

Presenting Our 2017-18 Volunteers!

Rebecca Alleyne Katherine Fraser Valerie London Maria Silva
Laraine Ashpole Brian Gibbard Julia Menard Ron Smith
Susan Belford Chris Harris Darsey Meredith Susan Smith
Kathleen Bellamano Trudy Hopman Mark Meredith Angela Stadel
Kari Boyle Darrin Hotte Rowan Meredith Sharon Sutherland
Joan Braun Shehnaz Hozaima Kevin Moye Paul Sweatman
Jereme Brooks Kyra Hudson Howard Nemtin Ashley Syer
Lori Charvat Paul Jacks Leslie Palleson Kellie Tennant
Shelley Chrest Katherine Lazaruk Amy Robertson Catherine Watson
Nicholette D’Angelo James Loewen Jaime Sarophim Dan Williams


We appreciate your dedication and support.

We would also like to recognize our Board of Directors and members of our Roster Committee; all of whom serve on a volunteer basis. Their guidance and oversight is invaluable to Mediate BC. These are time-consuming and intense volunteer roles that provide an enormous benefit to all of us in the mediation community. Thank you to all the current and past Directors and Roster Committee members who served Mediate BC over the past year:

Board of Directors

  • Judge Andrea Brownstone
  • Lori Charvat
  • Julie Daum
  • Brian Gibbard
  • Bill Keen
  • Richard Stewart, QC

Roster Committee

  • Leanne Harder
  • Arlene H. Henry, QC
  • Carol Hickman, QC
  • Andela Stadel
  • Richard Stewart, QC
  • James Vilvang, QC
  • Dan Williams

Thank you all!

Photo by Tim Marshall on Unsplash